� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Shop/Grow �
10:21 a.m., 2003-12-01

Another Thanksgiving has come and gone, and plates of turkey are once again successfully behind us. This particular Thanksgiving met with my general approval, I�m happy to note, as it gave me a chance to catch up with family and friends, some of whom I just don�t keep in contact with often enough. There was no time for any real, substantive visiting, but there will be occasion for that over the upcoming Christmas vacation.

One thing there turned out to be copious amounts of time for was shopping at the blasted mall on the blasted day after Thanksgiving. I don�t know if the worst part was the actual act of schlepping though the multi-tiered, over-glitzed, jam-packed halls for five straight hours or the fact that in that five hours, all I purchased was a teensy stuffed Piglet and a CD set. Possibly, it was the way that, in the car on the way there, my mother very casually implied that the only reason she would ever go to the blasted mall on the day after Thanksgiving is because I made her. I was so insulted I nearly cried.

It would be nice to have such a flexible relationship with reality, I suppose, but I was living in the cold, harsh world of unrepentant inevitabilities; one of which was looming over me and threatening me with �HUGE SALES!!!� and �GREAT GIFT IDEAS!!!�, its interior maze-like and bedecked in gaudy decoration, like some Aztec temple dedicated to that one deity the entire world can agree upon to worship, the almighty dollar. In the end, we actually had an okay time, I guess. After accidentally cutting off some lady heading into a department store, my sister apologized. I expected the lady to blow a gasket (typical mall-goer reaction to even the slightest of stimuli), but she just smiled and said, "If you don�t have patience today, you don�t belong in the mall." Right on, sister. Needless to say, I got out of the mall.

Another thing I did was spend some time with my little brother and his friends. I don�t think I�m ready for him to be grown up enough to have his own apartment yet, but it seems no one consulted me in regard to his all too rapid age progression. He�s got friends and acquisitions in a crummy college pad, he�s drinking right in front of me, and the whole thing is just weirding me out. Go back to being twelve, KillerWorkout! I�m equipped for that!

I also found out this weekend that one of my high school friends is engaged, which is another thing that seems strange to me. I don�t know why; I mean, I�ve got plenty of friends from school who are parents now -- but somehow, the onward march of time always throws me for a loop.

Then again, on Saturday night I also ran into this guy from high school with whom I was absolutely head over heels in love, and he was just and tall, bronzed, and gorgeous as ever. If history is any indication, he�s certain to be excelling at whatever endeavors he�s currently undertaking, and his (extremely well-fitting) designer clothes demonstrated that he�s kept in shape. I didn�t get to verify any of these suppositions, of course, because I didn�t actually confront him. I kind of hid behind a pillar and watched him walk. Just like in high school.

So, once again, what it comes down to is that the more things change, the more they stay the same. Comforting. Kinda.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: Queen Latifah kissing Adrien Brody And: "in Heaven, when [she�s] lying here in your arms" I�m Reading: Hard Eight, by Janet Evanovich. Oh yeah, you heard me: I finished my book! Wooooo! I�m Driving: This piece of shit rental car. Oh yeah, you heard me: I�m mobile again. Well, barely.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Homeward Bound and Gagged

my next adventure: 0 to 60 in Twenty Minutes

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news