� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Get Off the Pot �
12:01 p.m., 2004-06-23

There are a few subjects that really set me off, as those of you who are my long-time readers have many times borne ample witness. Politics is obviously one of them, although I�m not always happy about it (I mean, I�m proud that I take an interest in political issues, because they have global repercussions and are therefore extremely important, but I�m not terribly proud of the way they turn me into a blind, sputtering, lunatic activist at the drop of a hat; it is for that reason I�ve made a very conscious effort not to discuss politics in this space as much as I once did). Another hot-button issue, with perhaps less of a national impact attached (unless it causes me to snap and shoot up a fast-food eatery) is the subject of my comestibles.

Now, I�ve been totally open about my weird and irrational fixation with candy and, to a lesser extent, coffee. I�d like to revisit those points again, because I�m starting to feel a familiar itch in my hamstring, like it�s begging to be stretched out in juuuust the proper angle to smash my heel into someone�s face. What could put our normally level headed and even-keeled hero into such a tizzy, you ask? And stop making those air quotes when you say "level headed" and "even-keeled", it�s very rude. Don�t piss me off, buddy. I�ll shoot up a fast-food eatery.

Anyway, the topic I�m going to revisit is that of the coffee, although don�t everybody go running out of the room like you all know what�s coming, because it�s not exactly the same issue as before. Well, okay, sort of, but I�m going to use some different words when I�m talking about it, and I know you guys are all suckers for the English language! Right? Am I right? I see you hiding out there, Elizabeth Barrett Browning! I know I got you hooked. I had you at �forsooth�.

But this isn�t about the English language, or how I abuse it, or how it likes to be abused, because it�s really kinky that way, and YOU DON�T GET TO JUDGE ME! This is about the fact that I�m starting to feel a little used and abused myself by those co-workers of mine at Arts-Friendly who like to share in the spoils of my caffeine dependency without contributing any efforts of their own. Specifically, I�m starting to resent the question, "Have you made the coffee, yet?"

Yet, like it�s just expected that I�m going to do it. Which of course I am, since I don�t think I could stumble through another morning in this sinkhole of despair without a jolt to my system in the form of either caffeine, or possibly a couple thousand volts of electricity. Or maybe some 40% pure heroin. Well, that would kill me, probably, but even that would still be better than some of the indignities I�m forced to endure on behalf of my skeletal paycheck. Anyway, I�m getting a little sick and tired of people waiting and waiting and waiting for me to get up and make a pot of coffee, so that they can swoop down on it like a flock of turkey buzzards and suck it all up as soon as I�ve poured my first cup and left the carcass behind. That�s on a good day, though. Sometimes they try to beat me to the punch by stealing the first cup. On those occasions, I feel no qualms about offering them the punch, gratis, if you know what I mean.

Maybe this is a completely whacked-out and illogical reaction, since after all, I�m not paying for the coffee. Plus, I am the one who can�t seem to live without it, so it only makes sense that I be the one to make it, I guess, but it grates a little when people start giving me disapproving looks and tsk-ing when they come up to scavenge the corpse a little bit and the pot isn�t full. And then later in the day when I go back for round two of my caffeine fix, only to find that those jackals have sucked it all down and I have to make another pot�let�s just say that my blood pressure climbs to an altitude where I�m afraid it might get tangled in a radio tower and start receiving transmissions from outer space.

There�s nothing I can really do about it, though. Short of shooting up the fast-food place, I mean. I still make coffee every morning, and as long as I make it, they�ll keep drinking it. I suppose my only avenue of recourse is the hardest and most unappealing option of all: grow up and deal with it.

I hate that.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: funny outgoing answering messages I�m Watching: America�s [Last] Top Model, and it�s too bad those pesky career opportunities kept getting in the way of Nicole�s life goals, and all. And: Blow Out on Bravo. Are those people for real? Seriously, are they? Because they don�t act like real people.

A Year Ago, I Said:

As it turns out, I have a neighbor with a name that sounds very much like mine, and a bunch disrespectful, cat-fucking Sodomites for friends, who like to scream in the early morning hours.
If it�s Saturday, You Must Be Joking
6-25-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Not Driving/Me Crazy

my next adventure: Give a Crap

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news