� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Cat Nap Fever �
12:33 a.m., 2003-07-31

You know how a good nap will totally fuck you up? Yeah, that was totally me yesterday. I had a great weekend at home, but it was pretty much go, go, go, from the time I landed till the time I flew out again on Monday morning (that�s yesterday, for those of you keeping score at home), and when I landed? I was more strung out than a bobcat in a tennis racquet.

But then I had errands to run. In fact, I was in the midst of the creepy, smelly, shared van ride home from the airport when my cell rang; it was my agency, reminding me that I hadn�t turned in my time card from last week. So when I got home, I basically dropped off my shit and hit the road again. I did the time card thing, I hit the bank, took care of some other chores while I was out, and all of it with my head throbbing and my tummy rolling over on itself for lack of sleep. When I finally finished with the various and sundry tasks, it was 6:00, and I was all about to fall over, so I went in and took a nap.

Some amount of time passed, and then the ringing began.

My eyes slid open independently of one another, both focusing in different directions. I shot up in bed (as easily as one can shoot up, when one feels like one�s head has been cast entirely out of bronze) and tried frantically to make my alarm clock stop with the noise. Nothing worked. I hit buttons, I flipped switches, I rolled the volume thing all the way in both directions, and nothing would make the ringing cease! That�s when I discovered it was actually coming from the phone. Oops.

Then I looked at the clock again, and saw that it was 8:00 in the morning, and I totally panicked. I mean, I knew I was tired, but how the hell did I manage to sleep for fourteen hours without feeling any the more rested for it? Also, I have to be at work at 8:30! I was completely disoriented, thoroughly flustered, and damn near beside myself with the memory that I had a freaking meeting at 9:00, and an inbox that had spent my vacation gorging itself on four days worth of memos marked �URGENT!� I literally started running in circles around my room, not sure where to start first. �Should I get dressed? Or put in my contacts? Or grab my bag of shi�oh crap! I never made my lunch! I�ll have to buy lunch, but I don�t have any cash! I�ll have to go to an ATM at lunch so I can buy lunch, but by then, my lunch hour will be over and I�ll have to eat out of the vending machine, but all I�ll have will be a twenty, so I�ll have to hope that someone at the office can break a twenty, but what if they can�t?? Oh, shit, I�m going to starve!!!

That�s when I looked at my cell phone and saw that the date was the 28th, which, for those of you continuing to keep score at home, was Monday (yesterday), and that it was actually 8:00pm. Yes, instead of hibernating for fourteen hours, I�d napped for two. So I stumbled back to bed and collapsed happily onto it, a smile on my beleaguered face.

Of course, by then, I was completely and totally awake, and couldn�t get back to sleep to save my life. Ain�t that always the way?

Someone Got Here By Searching For: happy bunny boys are weird And: trishelle bulimia I�m Watching: Queer Eye For the Straight Guy, which is fucking priceless, and Boy Meets Boy. I�m Reading: Given my inability to commit to just one book, I�m going to start two and see which one takes off first. I�ll report back soon.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Drive

my next adventure: Fame: We're Gonna Live Forever

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news