� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Knock Gonna Take It �
3:39 p.m., 2004-09-01

Well, through the combined powers of positive thinking and old-fashioned emotional repression, I�ve managed to make the last nine out of ten entries not about how much my job is poisoning my soul like a deadly fungus spreading across the rotting stump of a once mighty oak! Clearly, I am on the road to a healthier outlook on life, what with my abnegation of pessimistic ideologies.

What I am not on the road to is an enlightened understanding of assholes who don�t know how to knock on the bathroom door before trying to yank it open and let themselves inside. It is extremely unsettling, to put it mildly, to be minding one�s own business on the commode, and then have the door start rattling and shaking on its hinges as what sounds like a FBI raid tries to gain immediate access. One�s chi is liable to become apoplectic as a fear begins to set in that the person on the other side of the flimsy, corrugated balsa wood door might just not take �locked� for an answer, and actually try to kick it down, A-Team style, and reveal you in all your self-relieving glory.

Is it honestly that taxing, emotionally and or physically, to bring one�s knuckles to the door once or twice before barreling on through like the bulls at Pamplona? I have to imagine it could at worst only be equally as draining as the furious and futile tugging at a locked knob that one would otherwise obviate. The door isn�t made out of tempered steel, either, you know. No one I know has ever broken a limb by knocking.

Of course, the people in this company seem to suffer from an acute procedural ignorance when it comes to The Knock. The other day I encountered a closed door at the restroom and, wishing to demonstrate my own well-developed civility, I knocked gently (but firmly) at the door. Rather than receiving one of the only two responses one ever expects in such situations (some variation on "occupied", or a hollow silence), I heard a voice respond, "Who is it?" And then after a profoundly confused moment, the door opened, and a woman poked her head out at me. "Yes?" She asked, sweetly. "What do you need?"

What do I need? Is this a trick question? I need a toilet, for fuck�s sake! What, is she living in there? What�s with actually answering the door? I was so tremendously confused, I was at a complete loss for words. I mumbled something about just needing to use the restroom, and she looked a little surprised and confused, like this was a totally unexpected response. Like she�d thought I came to the bathroom specifically to ask her about something. I seriously think she might have invited me in for pie and coffee, if the bathroom had any other places to sit (than just the obvious, I mean). It also made me wonder how she might respond to a Knock Knock joke:

Me: Knock knock!

Her: Come in!

There was a different time when I went down to use the restroom and, in another show of courteous and responsible behavior, knocked at the door. Receiving no answer, I tried the knob, only to meet resistance. Then I heard an extremely churlish voice from within snap, "Somebody is IN HERE!" I mean, first of all, if you�re in there? ANSWER WHEN I FUCKING KNOCK AT THE DOOR! That�s not just me getting my exercise for the day; I am trying to ascertain whether or not anyone is inside! Was this person hoping that if I they didn�t answer, I�d just go away, like a Jehovah�s Witness? Second of all, if you�re not going to respond to The Knock, you have also automatically forfeited your right to act like an indignant teenager when someone subsequently tries to enter.

It is the deficit of these simple social graces, the profound cultural apathy and pigheaded unwillingness to learn from past examples that inflames my frustrations on a daily basis. Do I need to teach a course on basic knock-matics? Do I need to start posting signs that guide people, via instructional pictography, how to employ The Knock, like those helpful Heimlich Maneuver placards? How many doors must a man not knock on, only to flush with embarrassment and flee the room when he subsequently finds it locked, before HE LEARNS HIS FUCKING LESSON ONCE AND FOR ALL???

Okay, I feel better now. I just needed to get all of that out of my system, and now I�ll be fine. Er�knock on wood.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: kirstie alley skinny pictures I�m Watching: The Amazing Race. "Colin and Christie? You�re the first team to arrive. But you�re a couple of jackasses and nobody likes you so you�re eliminated anyway." It�s a beautiful dream. I�m Almost Done With: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, and it�s about time.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: On Salad Ground

my next adventure: Potluck o' the Irish

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news