� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Job Insecurity �
12:39 a.m., 2003-10-28

So I�ve been working on this freelance project all weekend (and today), and I am just plum tuckered out. Don�t get me wrong, it�s been a phenomenal experience and I�m loving every long, drawn-out, stress-saturated, overly dramatic minute of it. Good thing, too, since I may have lost my job at Arts-Friendly Non-Profit in the name of it. But we�ll get to that.

The good news is that I love what I�m doing, and I also love that I can finally say that about a job without a �but�� tacked onto the end. It�s been an incredible experience, both educationally and vocationally speaking, and I�m fascinated by every aspect of the work that I�m doing. The bad news is that a good 90% of the people I�m working with every single day are high-strung, stressed-out, self-involved, and�well, overly dramatic. But that�s part of the beauty of it all! At least, for now. Let me do this for another few weeks and I�ll probably want to start kicking teeth in all over the place.

The other bad news is that this gig didn�t ever give me a set schedule, but just kind of lets me know a day in advance when they�ll need me. This is fine with me, but not so with Sophie. I can�t say as I blame her, since she has a lot of duties, and has both the right and the responsibility to know her employees can be counted on to do their jobs. On the other hand�well, fuck Sophie. I didn�t come out here to be an Account Representative, y�all.

Anyway, I found out late last night that they would need me today, and so I called and left messages for Sophie, Sam (that�s New Girl, for those who missed the memo), and Agent Orange, detailing my situation. I knew that I had covered every base as best I could -- I could not get shitcanned like the Cute Receptionist for failing to alert employer and agency about taking time off -- but I also knew Sophie would be hella pissed off about it. I made a point to call Agent Orange again this morning, just to touch base and make sure she got the message, and she said she�d gotten a cryptic one-line email back from Sophie saying I should go ahead and take the week off altogether.

Uh-oh. I think. Is that an �uh-oh�? Even Agent Orange wasn�t clear on whether or not that was �PS�Don�t come back� or �PS�Don�t freak about it, see you in a week�. My honest guess is that it meant �PS�We�ll try things without you for a week before we decide to flush you from the payroll�, because I�m pretty damn sure Sophie doesn�t want my ass around much longer, sucking valuable dollars from the company funds and just generally not being reliable in a day-to-day availability sense. My honest reaction, however, is kind of a big �whatever�. Like, I don�t want to be branded Unreliable, but, as I�ve mentioned, I also don�t want to be branded Account Representative, either.

In any case, this is also a time for sadness. See, on Saturday, when I began my first day on the new job, I pulled out my nipple ring, knowing it might be a problem. When I tried to thread it back through at the end of the day, I found the hole had already closed up and healed shut. In less than eight hours, the piercing I got three years ago (to this very day!)(well, yesterday now, technically) was a thing of the past. Sigh. I guess now I have to find a new identity.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: phone call to susie And: nehru jacket shop buy I�m Watching: Brainless late-night TV. Nothing like infomercials to lull you to sleep. Go, Flowbee, go! I�m Craving: A bag of M&M�s the size of a steamer trunk.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Conceal This, CoverGirl!

my next adventure: The Turning of the Screwed

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news