� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Cinema Buns �
5:03 p.m., 2006-05-19

This is me, enjoying the fleeting remains of my unemployment. By which I mean, I start a new job on Monday. This will be nice, because the influx of money is a many-splendored thing, and the job should run riiiiight up to the second week in July (or thereabouts), which is when I have to take about a week to tend to some family-type business. Not BAD family-type business, or mafia family-type business (not that I�d really tell you, if that were the case�not that I don�t trust YOU guys, of course, but you never know who might be illegally tapping my phone lines, President Bush), but just some stuff I need to be around to take care of.

By the way, I would just like to take a brief, juvenile station break and confess that part of the big reason I stopped writing about anything political in this journal was because of some really sort of nasty emails I got in response to some of my more vitriolic criticisms of our current administration. A lot of this was due to my (admittedly) somewhat overwrought reaction to knee-jerk jingoism and the gradual redefining of the word �patriot� to mean �someone who follows the leader and doesn�t ask questions and doesn�t require that the leader of the country they love behave in a responsible and respectable manner on the global stage�, and the word �traitor� to mean �didn�t vote for George Bush�. In the face of our fearless leader�s approval rating, which is currently shitting its bed, domestic espionage, the skyrocketing price of fuel, and this asinine �I�m the Decider� horseshit, to all of those my detractors? I�d just like to say: called it, saw it coming, toldja so.

But back to my regularly scheduled inoffensive contemplations. Ulrich and I finally bit the bullet and went to Mission Impossible: III. And don�t give me that, �You won�t support Bush, but you�ll get on the fucked-up Tom Cruise Crazy Train� thing, either, because I wrestled with this decision for a long time, y�all. I love me some J.J. Abrams, and some Keri Russell (whom I have always thought was underrated, even when she was the media darling after Felicity�s first season), and I really wanted to see them do their thing, and support THEM. It was worth it, too, in my opinion. Don�t get me wrong: the Cruise is totally unnerving and his Crazy has become a powerful entity unto itself, capable of reaching out of the movie screen to slap you in the mouth, but it was kept relatively in check (far better than it was in fucking War of the Worlds�if that story had any grain of truth to it, the Martians would have taken one look into Cruise�s manic, Judge Doom eyes and not stopped running till they hit Alpha Centauri), and there was usually enough Pretty on the screen to distract (Maggie Q, Keri Russell, Jonathan Rhys Myers [growl!]). It was like a two-hour episode of Alias, only with a much bigger budget.

We�ve watched a lot of movies, lately. We saw Poseidon with Domino last weekend, and it was quite amusing. Maybe a tragedy about people drowning on a cruise ship shouldn�t be described as �amusing�, but take that up with Wolfgang Petersen. Also, since when Ulrich moved in he brought his Netflix account with him, we have been steadily going through a comprehensive list I made over the years of films I�ve always wanted to see. So far, we�ve seen Night of the Hunter, The Serpent and the Rainbow, The 4th Man, Our Man Flint, The King is Alive, Spellbound, Scanners, and The Village. Last night we made tapas and then drank Kir Royale, ate chocolate mousse, and watched To Have and Have Not. Sometimes it RULES to be an adult, y�all.


The chocolate mousse was a byproduct of my search to fill time during my unemployment. I love to cook, but I never really have the time to give it the focus it really deserves. So, with not having a job, I�ve had plenty of opportunity to dink around in the kitchen. Unfortunately, that�s all about to come to a crashing halt with the new job. Ironic, isn�t it? Now that I�ll be making enough money to actually start eating again, I won�t have the time or the energy to cook.

Still, it�s good to be working again. (Or, it will be.)

Today�s Trivia Factoid: Um...chocolate mousse is real damn good? I�m Watching: Dude, I missed the finale of America�s Next Top Model! So nobody spoil it for me, okay? Otherwise I�ll go Undiscovered Supermodel on your asses. Recognize. I�m Reading: Heather�s genius rebuttal to Brandon Davis. Ha!

A Year Ago, I Said:

...who looks like a moron more than the guy who has to open his door to take a parking stub at the mall, or worse, to pay for parking on the way out? Well, I suppose the guy who tries to pay the two dollars in pennies looks like a bigger moron, but frankly, �that guy� is still �me� so the argument stands.

Dress Your Family. Period.
5-20-2005

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Pillow Talk

my next adventure: Giving Grandma Something To Talk About

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news