� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Boyfriend? Don't Mind if I Do! �
4:01 p.m., 2005-02-24

So remember how I was convinced that all that rain was a sign of the apocalypse? And then the day after I wrote that entry, the rains just suddenly stopped without warning, on purpose to make me look like a jackass? Well, then they started again, all, �We�re back now! We just wanted to embarrass you, because we could!� Bastard rains. Anyway, they came back a couple weeks ago and wreaked some serious havoc with the Pacific Coast Highway, and then totally just stopped again, all, �Here, have a gorgeous day so that when we start all over again on Monday, you�ll remember exactly what you�re missing! HA HA HA!� Just like that. It�s like Mother Nature is having hot flashes, or something.

Anyway, along with the rains, much else has happened, but I haven�t really had time to write about it all, what with my trip out to my Mom�s. And for those of you playing along on your home game, I heard from her yesterday and the doctor gave her a clean bill of health! She can�t go back to work for another five or six weeks yet, but she�s pretty well self-sufficient now. Which means she can watch her gory surgeries and paranoia-inducing true crime shows to her heart�s content, without worrying that I�ll wake her up in the middle of the night with pitiful screams from my night terrors.

Also for those of you playing along at home, Tuesday was my birthday, so you can slide over one more bead on your abacus! I have officially vacated my mid-twenties, and am now beginning the slow descent towards thirty. I didn�t really have any opportunity to plan a wild and crazy birthday bash as in years past, because of all the everything else I was dealing with, but my pal Domino threw together a last minute dinner for me and it was very pleasant and low-key. Strangely there were about four other parties there, also celebrating my birthday. Most of them didn�t actually stop by my table to say anything to me, but I�d hear them all singing �Happy Birthday� every now and then, so I know they were at least thinking of me. They kept getting my name wrong, which was weird, and when I�d shout out, �THANKS!� all loud, some of them would kind of turn and looked at me like I was the freak, but whatever. It was nice anyway.

I got a few gifts for my birthday, too! I got some DVDs, a book, a cool shirt, and a boyfriend. And I mean, nothing against all the other gifts, but I�ve been asking for a boyfriend for a while, so I think that was probably my favorite. I know this comes as a bit of a surprise to y�all�those of you playing the home game may now draw a card from the Confirmed Bachelor pile�because I hadn�t even mentioned I was seeing someone, but there�s a reason for that. Which is that at first I didn�t want to jinx it, and then I was kind of preoccupied with my mom�s issues, so the opportunity to write the proper entry for it just never presented itself. However, as of last night, we are �official�, so now�s as good a time as any!

I feel weird talking about it, a little. I�ve been single for such a long time (I mean, a long, long, long time)(seriously, home gamers, I�ll wait while you clean the nest of spiders out of the Relationship Wheel and get ready for the next round of play) that the words �I have a boyfriend� still sound like a foreign phrase when I utter them out loud. It was really cute, too, because he (let us call him Clyde) asked me if I wanted to �go steady�. How charming is that? And then right afterwards he asked if I wanted to watch a grisly horror movie. So, he�s pretty awesome. He�s also pretty deprived, because HE DOESN�T HAVE CABLE, which is like unfathomable and usually a big red flag in my book, but it means that I get to introduce him to the wonder and the beauty that is Alias, among other things. So I�m trying to look on the bright side.

But seriously? No cable. I know, I don�t get it either.

Well, in any event, it�s been kind of a crazy couple of weeks. Fortunately for me, I am now older and wiser, and more equipped to handle it. You know, when I�m not MAKING OUT WITH MY BOYFRIEND. Yay!

Someone Got Here By Searching For: kissing on the second date I�m Watching: Veronica Mars, and seriously, you guys, this is an awesome show. Where�s the love? And: Saw. It was really freaky, but the stupidity of the characters at the end really kind of ruined it for me.

A Year Ago, I Said:

You know those Bugs Bunny cartoons where he wakes up, pokes his head out of his burrow (or warren, whatever), hears something unsettling, and turns around to see a train barreling at his head at 150mph? That�s what today was like.

Joe Blow
2-24-2004

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Throw Mama From the Train of Thought

my next adventure: I'd Like to Thank the Academy, But They Don't Deserve It

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news