� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Only 124 Shopping Days Left �
11:07 p.m., 2003-08-23

Among other things, I have made a command decision that this weekend shall bring me new glasses. This is not just because I have a serious problem with instant gratification (in that it�s not fast enough), and I can�t wait to get spiffy, new eyewear, but because I realize that I may want to preserve my one remaining month�s worth of contact lenses for special occasions. Glasses can be a real pain in the ass, y�all, and I won�t always want to drag them around with me everywhere I go. I�m just warning you up front, so when I come back on Monday with glasses, you don�t get confused and think it�s my cousin, Clark.

That was a Superman reference, just FYI.

Also this weekend? The beginning of Christmas shopping season, officially. Early, you say? Perhaps. But I have so many people to buy for that if I try to wait until actual Christmastime, I will be doing all my shopping at an illustrious boutique in Hollywood known as the 99� Store. Or, possibly, everyone will be receiving cornholders and Ring Dings again. But I�m trying to be a better gift buyer, and live down the ignominy of my pre-teen years in which I presented my mother with the following:

o One cheap, pewter chain, with an amethyst pendant the size of a golf ball -- Because, you know, the bigger the stone, the better the necklace. Or something. Bless my mother�s heart, she never complained. She never wore the goshawful thing, but she never complained, either.

o One bottle of nail polish, in Neon Melon -- I really don�t know what I was thinking. I�m not color blind, or anything, but this stuff was about two shades away from Hunter�s Orange, and I was convinced my mother was going to love it. I remember her smiling very brightly when she opened the package, and then, whenever I would ask her, �Mommy, is this the nail polish I bought you?� she�d smile awkwardly and say, �Er�of course!� My poor mom.

o One cheap-ass, costume jewelry ring -- The ring cost me $5.00, which was quite the fortune to someone my age (I was 14) (just kidding), and I think the stone�excuse me, �stone��remained in the ring for about five whole days.

o One cheap-ass, costume jewelry, �gold� bracelet -- Quite possibly the single ugliest thing I�ve ever given to my mother. I bought it at this trashy shop, and was once again convinced that, because it was big and gaudy (and �gold�) that it was quality craftsmanship.

I�m surprised the poor woman didn�t cry herself to sleep every night, thinking that her son hated her. For that reason alone, I owe it to my family to buy them real gifts this coming Holiday season. And because of the broke-itude, that starts now.

Also this weekend? Decompressing. I�ve somehow become this rampaging whore at the office. Now that I�ve realized Cute Receptionist and I are really just never meant to be (the fact that he�s already in a relationship notwithstanding, our sexual incompatibility has become compounded by some further philosophical incompatibilities), you�d think I could just let it be. Not so. Rather, I have gone completely the other way in the matter, and am now the most brazen and aggressive flirt in the history of flirtdom. Maybe it�s because I now know that nothing can or will happen between us, and I don�t want it to happen, and that feeling is quite liberating. I can flirt all I want, secure in the knowledge that I never have to make good on my alleged promises! Still, it�s bad form, and I should probably quit.

But now, I should go to bed. Everybody enjoy your weekend, and wish me good glasses-hunting vibes.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: creepy puppets And: �can you hear me now� and �Verizon� I�m Watching: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, which makes me want to go kick some ass. I�m Eating: The last of my Ghirardelli chocolate. I�ve resolved to start eating healthier (well, I�ll try it out for a week or two), so this is my last hurrah.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Blah Blah Blah

my next adventure: Just Do Your Damn Laundry

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news